Anxiety Schmanxiety!

Standard

How are your Delicious Possibilities coming along?! How’s it going with facing Uncertainty head on?

I had a great opportunity recently to put on a coat of courage instead of hastily throwing on my anxiety poncho! I had a dentist appointment to get fitted for a crown on a molar. You should know that I fear all things “dental”. Cleanings, fillings, root canals; even the smell of walking into the office can quite literally make me feel like someone turned on a flow of ice water that starts in my heart and works its way to every single part of my body. I’ve actually been known to go into a full blown panic attack, unable to speak, move my hands or feet, or respond in anyway except through some pretty intense shaking! May God continue to bless my ever-patient dentist…!

As my dear dentist was prepping my mouth for the Novocain shot, I felt that familiar ice floe begin to make its cold journey from my chest and turn toward my arms. And then I remembered our challenge for this year – No More Letting Uncertainty Do The Driving! And so, in that moment, I asked Jesus to remind me that HE is in control and that Jeremiah 29:11 is alive and well and applies even today to something as benign as dental work!

Within a few seconds of praying that scripture, the following thought popped into my head: “That iciness you feel is fear, and if I may be so bold to say, is being served up with a small cup of ‘resistance to trust me’ and a side of ‘anxiety to give up control’. I know that feeling and how unsettling it is to feel it sliding through your veins. But it isn’t Truth. I AM.”

Thank you, Jesus.

Now. Did I enjoy those 80 minutes of drilling and rinsing and poking? Did I experience Dental Nirvana? Nope. Not so much. BUT, I didn’t have a panic attack. I didn’t sit for 80 minutes wondering if the next little step was going to hurt. Instead, I thought about Jesus and all the times of uncertainty He faced with a heart that was open to POSSIBILITIES, thus creating miracles and peace along those paths.

Uncertainty never feels good in the moment. But, remember that while feelings are INDICATORS of your situation, they do not DICTATE what God wants of you (that’s a favorite saying of Lysa Terkeurst’s!). Our response to uncertainty and fear will determine how God will be able to use us (and thus BLESS us) in this life. Don’t let anxiety get in the way of the plans He has for you: to prosper you, not to harm you, to give you hope, and a future (that’s our Jeremiah 29:11!).

“But you belong to God, my dear children. You have already won a victory over [fear], because the Spirit who lives in you is greater than the spirit who lives in the world.” I John 4:4, NLT.

Amen! Now hang up your anxiety poncho today and face the day with possibilities instead! Leave me some comments and let me know YOUR issues and how YOU plan on facing them with courage and trust!

Up later this week: What does “Stringing Pearls” mean, anyway?

Peace,
Wendie

PS. I realize there is a big difference between feeling anxious over a dental visit and living day in and day out with fear. If fear and anxiety are interfering with your ability to live a productive life, please seek professional assistance from a qualified medical doctor and/or a trusted counselor.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

