Food for THOUGHT!

Standard

You are what you eat.  Ever hear that one?  Basically, it means you are as healthy as what you take into your body, nutritionally speaking!  And here’s another one for you:  You are what you THINK.

 

“As a woman thinketh in her head, so she is.”  Proverbs 23:7, KJV

 Thoughts are essentially words you say to yourself.  They can lift you up or bring you down.  And thoughts have great power.  Why?  Because thoughts have a tendency to become WORDS.  Words form behaviors.  Behaviors become habits.  Habits create character.  And, well, character shapes our destiny.

 I want my destiny to be the one God created for me.  I want my character to be a mirror image of His.  I want my habits to be healthy and Godly.  I want my behavior to reflect His goodness in me. I want my words to be gracious and loving.  And so, in order for all those things to be my reality, my THOUGHTS need to be focused on Truth (with a capital T!).  If what is in my heart and head is pleasing to God, then everything else falls into place.  If not, I can start down a slippery slope that can become a nasty avalanche if I don’t stop it.

 If you are like me, you’ve got some old, broken records that sometimes start playing in your head.  When they start up, if I don’t intentionally change the record, I best be gettin’ on my skis and goggles to prepare for a bumpy ride down an icy mountain!  And that just sounds like nothing but cold and scary!  So, how DO we change the record before the big slide begins?  Luckily, Paul provides us a beautiful answer in his letter to the Philippians:

“Don’t worry about anything, but pray and ask God for everything you need, always giving thanks for what you have. And because you belong to Christ Jesus, God’s peace will stand guard over all your thoughts and feelings. His peace can do this far better than our human minds.Brothers and sisters, continue to think about what is good and worthy of praise. Think about what is true and honorable and right and pure and beautiful and respected.” Philippians 4:6-8, ERV

In other words, whatever thoughts are threatening to drop you off the chairlift, you have the POWER through Jesus to stay lifted by fixing your thoughts on Him, His power, His Truth, and His goodness.  You have the ability to say “STOP”…and then refocus your thoughts on things of a much higher plane.

So today, if you should find yourself with anxious or negative thoughts swirling around in that sweet head of yours, change the record.  Change the channel.  Change the station.  Because thoughts are powerful tools that ultimately shape our possibilities into reality, and determine how God can use us on Earth!  You ARE what you think!

Up next:  Getting ready for Bible study!!!!

Peace,

Wendie

10 responses »

  1. Thanks for the uplifting words!
    Changed the record and only slid halfway down. 😀
    This is the verse that turned my thoughts around.

    As he preached he said, “The real action comes next: The star in this drama, to whom I’m a mere stagehand, will change your life. I’m baptizing you here in the river, turning your old life in for a kingdom life. His baptism—a holy baptism by the Holy Spirit—will change you from the inside out.”
    Mark 1:7-8 The Message

    “Jesus change me from the inside out – my thoughts & my attitude. You are my “star” and like John who followed you as a stagehand let me play my bit part to the best of my ability. Let me feed my mind with what is pleasing to you.”

Leave a Reply

