Changing Broken Records!

Standard

Becoming More than a Good Bible Study Girl – Week 2!!!

Our goal this week is to begin thinking about what the soundtrack of our own heart sounds like and how we can begin to ask Jesus to come in and change our thoughts into ones that are aligned with what God thinks! Here’s what we talked about this snowy morning at Bible study!

Have you ever heard of something called Broken Window Theory? The theory was introduced in 1982 by social scientists James Q. Wilson and George L. Kelling. The theory has been used as a motivation for reforms in urban criminal policy.

Basically, it states that if the owners of low-income housing units invest time and money into replacing broken windows for their tenants, eventually, people will stop breaking them and begin to take better care of their buildings. It’s a proven theory that many large cities have adopted in an attempt to both fight crime in urban areas and improve living conditions for low-income families. LA, Chicago, Berlin, Milwaukee, etc. are just a few examples.

Overall, the brokenness of these buildings was leading the residents to fall further into the lies that poverty had made them feel: they were criminals, they couldn’t ever do better; they couldn’t get out of the ghetto; they’d always live that way…etc. But once the windows began to get fixed, a certain attitude began invading the projects. Not only were the residents stopping others from breaking windows, but they were also starting gardens and planting flowers, congregating outdoors for the first time in a long time, organizing games for the kids, experiencing joy.

The outcome here is that the people who live in these impoverish conditions began to realize that…

WHO THEY ARE AND WHAT THEY STRUGGLE WITH ARE NOT THE SAME THING!

(Sounds familiar, doesn’t it?! This matches up with a theme of Session One of our current Bible study: our circumstances are NOT our identity!!)

I think this is an awesome analogy for letting Jesus into our hearts! Instead of labeling ourselves as failures, we need to replace the broken RECORDS of the soundtracks that play in our heads and hearts and believe we are going to begin to see some pretty cool changes!

You and I need to align our thoughts with the thoughts of the One who created us! Lysa TerKeurst talks a lot about seeking acceptance and the labels we place on ourselves in order to fit in. She makes a big point in the second two chapters of our study about learning to fill your heart with what GOD thinks of you – not what others think of you. Stop thinking the negative “I am’s…” and “what if’s…” and change them, instead, into what GOD says about us!

Fix your broken windows with the Truth. Change your broken records. Take God at His Word and create an honest, beautiful new set of I Ams for yourself and use His Word to back them up:

I Am Scared becomes I Am Always Protected (1 John 4:4)
I Am Nobody becomes I Am Important (Jer 29:11)
I Am Unloved becomes I Am ALWAYS LOVED (Psalm 139:4)
I Am in Need of (_________) becomes I Am Always Well Provided For (Matthew 6:25)
I Am Ugly becomes I Am Beautiful (Song of Solomon 7)
I Am Alone becomes I Am Always with Him (Psalm 91)
I Am Stupid becomes I Am Wise (Proverbs 3)
I Am Incapable becomes I Am ABLE (Philippians 4:13)
I Am in a Pit becomes I Am in an Opportunity (Romans 8:28)

How awesome is that?! WE ARE NOT OUR CIRCUMSTANCES and as we begin to read and memorize scripture, we use that TRUTH (with a capital T) to change the facts of whatever situation we are in. And we begin to turn our negative I AMs into Godly phrases that honor Jesus in our heart and, therefore in our lives.

So, we are NOT our circumstances. We are Jesus girls, who – when we fall, and we will – can get right back up and move on! Remember Lysa and her brownie debacle? Remember what scripture she quoted?

Proverbs 24:16: The godly may trip seven times, but they will get up again.

We get back up! We don’t let our mistakes stop us from moving forward! So that’s our memorization scripture verse for the week! WE GET BACK UP!

If you are following along in the study with us, your homework this week is to:
• Complete Session 1, Days 4-6 of the Participant Guide, including the reading of chapter 3 in the main book.
• Pick two or three of the TRUE “I AM” statements above to focus on throughout the week.
• Memorize Proverbs 24:16 in whatever version makes the most impact on you (including your own paraphrased version).
• Have a listen to “Help Me Find It” by Sidewalk Prophets for some inspiring quiet, song time!

Let Jesus make a difference in your heart. That is my prayer for you this week.

Our super special giveaway from last week was the NIV Life Application Study Bible! Thank you to everyone who either commented on the blog site itself or emailed me directly with your comments and stories! I read and responded to every single one! The winner of the awesomely cool Bible is….DRUM ROLL PLEASE…Estela Schutt! Stella – the Bible is on its way straight to you!

THIS week, our giveaway is equally as cool: a CD personally made by ME filled with awesome praise and worship songs that will fill your heart with TRUTH! Everyone who comments on the blog AND/OR emails comments to me (wendie.connors@sbcglobal.net) will be entered to win! I’ll announce that winner next Tuesday!

Up Later This Week: A Personal Request….!!!!

Peace,
Wendie

4 responses »

  1. YES!!! Thanks so much for these restored windows of truth:

    I Am Scared becomes I Am Always Protected (1 John 4:4)
    I Am Nobody becomes I Am Important (Jer 29:11)
    I Am Unloved becomes I Am ALWAYS LOVED (Psalm 139:4)
    I Am in Need of (_________) becomes I Am Always Well Provided For (Matthew 6:25)
    I Am Ugly becomes I Am Beautiful (Song of Solomon 7)
    I Am Alone becomes I Am Always with Him (Psalm 91)
    I Am Stupid becomes I Am Wise (Proverbs 3)
    I Am Incapable becomes I Am ABLE (Philippians 4:13)
    I Am in a Pit becomes I Am in an Opportunity (Romans 8:28)

  2. I am NOT my circumstances!!

    Today when the dreaded RED item in the LIGHT load of laundry happened I was able to look at the situation without condemnation and self ridicule. Nor did I didn’t look for someone else to blame! Instead I picked myself up thinking

    ……..isn’t it great my guys look great in PINK!

Leave a Reply

