Woman in the Mirror…

Standard

Apparently, as women, we don’t always like what we see.

A recent study I read in a newspaper stated that women check their reflections in mirrors (or any reflective surface, for that matter) eight times per day, on average. What I find most interesting, though, is that we don’t enjoy doing so.

The study stated that women were surprised to see their reflection. I guess that means our perception of what we look like and the reality of it can catch us off guard. Why? Why do we try to portray one thing when reality looks a little (or maybe a lot…) different?

God sees us for who we are. He looks upon us with great pride and love. We are His masterpieces, my dears! We have been created in His image and since He makes everything glorious, what does that make us? IT MAKES US GLORIOUS! Can you even believe it?!

Hold onto your hats, because this next little bit is going to blow you away. This is what the Lord of ALL has to say about you:

“My darling, everything about you is beautiful, and there is nothing at all wrong with you.” Song of Solomon 4:7, NCV.

Don’t be afraid of your reflection, beautiful one. The physical reflection OR your spiritual one. I can counsel you on this from personal experience. You never need to hide from Him!

“If I really think about it, until I came to really know God, being transparent felt very unsafe…It meant someone else could see ‘right through me’…It felt dangerous and made me feel vulnerable, you know? But today, there is nothing I want more! Sisters, I don’t always get it right and I can easily slip on my little mask of perfection and hypocrisy if I’m not carefully mindful of it! But what I really want is less of me and more of God. Less of my agenda and more of His. I WANT people to see right through me so that even if in the smallest possible way, they may glimpse a sliver of the goodness of God. But also, one of my most sincere prayers is that I would be transparent before God in every aspect of my relationship with Him!” Wendie Connors, The KISS, page 45.

Go ahead. Look in the mirror. Love what you see. Because He sure does!

(Taken from Daily Smooches, Devotions from The K.I.S.S., copyright 2012, Wendie Connors)

If you are following along with our Good Bible Study Girl study at home, here’s whatcha gotta do this week:

1. Complete Days 4-6 of Session 3 in the Participant Guide! Read Chapter 9 in the main book!
2. Memorize/rewrite the scripture of the week: Proverbs 17:17: A friend loves you all the time, but a brother was born to help in times of trouble.
3. Listen to Mercy Me’s, “Word of God Speak”!
4. Commment or email me for a chance to win a really cool Bible marking kit! (Tammy Miller was the lucky winner last week of the super cool cross bookmark)!
5. HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!

Up Next: Did I REALLY Just Say THAT?

Peace,
Wendie

8 responses »

  1. Hi Wendie, Thank you for this post. It’s such an important message to remember, but a hard thing to believe sometimes! I think the world is always telling us it’s what’s on the outside that counts. Of course, God doesn’t care one bit about my gray hairs and wrinkles I’ve been noticing lately . . . thanks for reminding us we are all beautiful!!!! Love, Kim

  2. I so love that you guys said “God doesn’t make junk” my sweet Gram Florence used to say that all the time if I was down. I knew how very much she loved me and what joy that brought to my life. The glorious thing is God loves us even more, and knowing that we are made in His image is more than enough to get us through anything. Love & blessings always.

Leave a Reply

