Don’t Judge Me!

Standard

In finishing up our session on relationships and words, I thought I’d share a snippet from my devotional, Daily Smooches! Devotions from The K.I.S.S. Just one last reminder on the importance on using our words wisely, even when we are tempted to do otherwise!

Daily Smooches cover

Hoppin’ mad. No other words describe how I felt that afternoon when I found out a friend had betrayed my trust and passed on information to others that I had given her in confidence. (You’d like to think we women would’ve stopped doing that in 9th grade, but we haven’t!) This so-called friend was bad-mouthing me all over the place, spilling the beans of a situation she had no business spilling! So, I went on a little spilling spree myself. I let anyone and everyone know a little “beans” about HER. I felt pretty vindicated until I went to Bible study the next morning and the topic of the day was this little gem:

“How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” Matthew 7:4-5, NIV.

Convicting, isn’t it? Who are we to judge someone else’s action when we ourselves are doing the same thing? Oh it hurts, alright, to admit you had a LOG in your own eye when you are complaining about a simple piece of sawdust in your sister’s eye. Our motivation may seem like righteousness in the moment, but if we are honest, it’s simple defensiveness that leads us straight to hypocrisy.

“There are times when I feel like I am sitting in church looking at my watch, anxious to get onto the next thing in my day without actively listening or truly experiencing any of it. Or maybe it’s when I pick up my Bible, read a verse about forgiveness, think, “Oh, wasn’t that nice?”, and move on to complain to my husband about a friend who slighted me that day, making no connection at all to what I just read. Maybe it’s during the holidays and I am so busy trying to make Christmas so “special” for my family that I neglect to relish in the real meaning of the celebration. Or maybe it’s just when I make all the wrong choices – CONSISTENTLY sabotaging my own best efforts to do otherwise – simply because I tried to control everything myself, in an effort to get things done, and get them done quickly, without asking God for help.” Wendie Connors, The KISS, pages 50-51.

Each of us has experience with these issues! The question is, what will we do in them? Will we choose the high road of the Golden Rule (“do unto others as you would have them do unto you”), or will we just go through the motions and end up living like a hypocrite?! Pray for me that I choose the high road, the right road, today. I’ll do the same for you, sister friend! (copyright Wendie Connors, 2012).

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Up Next Week: The Aroma of a King…

Peace,
Wendie

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

