Hot Diggety Dawg! Living with a Daily Dependence on God!

Standard

Just over three years ago, I lost one of the truest loves of my life. At the ripe old age of 15, Diggety Dawg Connors, THE best Labrador Retriever that ever lived (please don’t try to argue this with me – you will not win), crossed the “rainbow bridge” and left my heart in a state of grief from which I seriously believe I have yet to fully recover. I have experienced the love of 3 other wonderful labs in my life thus far with several more to come, I’m sure (sorry Timbo – you know it’s inevitable…)! But I doubt any will ever match the devotion, love, dedication, and lifeline dependence that dog had for me, (and vice versa)!

Tim used to tell me that whenever I’d leave the house, Diggety would sit by the front window just watching and waiting for me to come home. The second he saw my car, Tim claims Dig would go crazy with joy and start a whining and running in circles ritual that didn’t stop until I came inside. Dig honestly lived for me. He’d plop down at my feet. Follow me around. Sleep next to me at night. Rest his head on my knee. Tilt his head at everything I said, as if he was hanging on every word that came out of my mouth! Share an ice cold Popsicle with me on hot days (don’t judge me…)! He was so in tune with me that he could sense when I needed to talk, needed a friend, needed a hug. He had no doubt that I loved him back with all my heart. He trusted me for all his needs, never once feeling even a bit anxious about: his next meal, endless bowls of water, his walks, fun playtime, delicious treats, or that his basket would always be filled with toys. He loved all our training exercises that, even when difficult to master, made him a better canine citizen!

That dog was full on, head- over-heels devoted to me, happily and fully dependent on me, and in crazy LOVE with me for every single day of those 15 sweet years – and I with him.

Looking back, what beautiful things Diggety taught me about the way we should live our lives with Jesus! We can be at the joyful ready for each thing He has to teach us, show us, tell us; living with total trust that all our needs will always and consistently be lovingly met; willing to work hard to become the people He created us to be; listening well to every command, conviction, and praise; following HARD after Him as our master and role model for living a good life; believing that an abundant life is truly at hand; and coming blissfully and joyfully undone in His presence.

We have one divine goal in this life: to KNOW God. Once that goal has been met, we will have the desire and need to live almost like Diggety lived for me – but instead of dependence on a person, we live with a daily dependence on God (D.D.O.G.)!

Lysa TerKeurst addresses this need in the 5th section of our study that we begin this week: “Becoming More than a Good Bible Study Girl in our Thoughts”. Our thoughts need to be aligned to His in order for that to happen! We can’t always know His thoughts, of course, but we can follow HARD after Him to the point where we are becoming more and more in tune with Him. That is what I want so badly I can almost touch it! He is calling us to Him all the time. Let’s turn to Him this week, depending on Him each day for our needs, and see if we just can’t help ourselves from falling HEART first in love with Him all over again!

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-30, The Message.

Yes, Lord. I want to learn the unforced rhythms of grace. Thank you for teaching me and for the privilege of your Holy company. Amen.

If you are following along with our study, please complete Days 1-3 of Session 5 in the Participant Guide! Make a comment here on the blog for a chance to win a super cute “Faith” picture frame! Listen to the song, “Who You Are” by Unspoken for some awesome spirit-filled inspiration! And – don’t forget: D.D.O.G.!

Up next week: Whatcha Thinkin’?

Peace,
Wendie

12 responses »

    • Me too. I miss that crazy Diggety Butt. Waggy tail butt boy. Boo Boo Head Kitty Boo. My Mostly Companion. I could go on and on! “OH BABY!” Right Mom?! Love you! He loved you too

  1. First… Can I just say that I love that you had a dog named Diggity? That alone is making my heart full of joy and well, giddiness! Thank you for such a beautiful and (very!) relatable example of Jesus’ love and devotion to us.

  2. I love the line, ‘learn the unforced rhythms of grace.” What a beautiful image… I can picture my soul dancing to my needs of my heart (which is a much prettier picture than my body dancing to any rhythm at all!) and through it coming closer to God in a simple, joyful, natural way. Too often I try to force myself to do things that I think are right and that “should” be the path towards God only to discover I’m trying to follow someone else’s footsteps. My journey, while not always easy, should be unforced and (at least at times) graceful. Thank you, Wendie, for sharing that scripture with us. I’m going to step a bit out of my comfort zone right now and grab my Bible to see what the verses around it have in store for me today. Small (natural) steps, right?

    • Carol you are right, we all have our own path. We should respect each persons journey as their own and follow our unique one to a better closeness with God. Let the blessings come as they may.

    • thanks Carol. I actually have felt that same way on “should” be. I often have to take a step back and analyze the journey to make sure I’m on course. I love your image soul and heart. So beautiful

  3. D.D.O.G indeed but what about F.R.O.G. (Fully Rely On God).

    Either way His presence has been all around me in my storm the past week and a half. I have some awesome eyes wide open stories to tell about some amazing God moments from this week.

    With a heart full of praise and thankfulness I put my complete trust in HIM who is ALWAYS with us!

    • I thought about FROG but since Diggety was a dog, DDOG worked better with the post!! 🙂 Cannot wait to hear your stories from the week, my friend. Glad the storm is settling down. Love you!

  4. Love this story and example. I completely understand the love of a dog and it has been just over a year that we had to put Chubbers, our English Bulldog down. I still miss him greatly and think about him daily. He was the boy who lead me through my tough time when “God hurt my feelings”. I was all alone and decided to buy a puppy to keep me company, well, he did that and much more! He helped me see what God had planned for me. There is not a doubt in my mind that Chubbers and Diggety are playing over rainbow bridge. ❤

Leave a Reply

