Walk with Me!

Standard

Sometimes I need someone to hold my hand and walk me through the things that don’t always immediately make sense. This week we are talking about being more than good Bible study girls in our thoughts – that’s pretty deep stuff, sister friends! So, having a hunch that that some of you might be a little like me, I thought I’d link arms with you and take us on a little walk through scripture to help us figure out how to work on aligning our thoughts to God’s!

We began this week with this piece of scripture:

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD. “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways And My thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9, NASB.

Well, thank goodness for that, right? But, how do we tap into those thoughts and ways? What separates us from just automatically knowing them?

ONE thing, manifested in countless ways: Sin.

So, what reconciles us?

One man; one way: Jesus as our savior.

23 For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6:23, NASB.

So, when we believe in Jesus Christ as our savior, how does that transform our thinking?

Through the gift of the Holy Spirit!

Those who are dominated by the sinful nature think about sinful things, but those who are controlled by the Holy Spirit think about things that please the Spirit. So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace. Romans 8:5-6, NLT.

Okay. I get it, I think! But what pleases the spirit, then, to think about?

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Philippians 4:8, TNIV.

Ah ha! In other words, we always have a CHOICE to move our minds “up”!

This frees us up to think about Godly things, instead of worldly things!

Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth. Colossians 3:2, NLT.

What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us? Romans 8:31, NLT.

Well, there IS someone who is against us. We have an enemy: Satan, who loves it when we get inside our own heads! All he has to do is sit back, and watch the show…he doesn’t even need to trip us up, because we can do it to ourselves.

“It happens so regularly that it’s predictable. The moment I decide to do good, sin is there to trip me up. I truly delight in God’s commands, but it’s pretty obvious that not all of me joins in that delight. Parts of me covertly rebel, and just when I least expect it, they take charge.” Romans 7:21-23, MSG.

Sounds sheepishly familiar! So, what do we do when we get in our own way?

LOOK to Jesus!

…let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith. Hebrews 12:1b-2, NLT.

Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the LORD, and I will restore your fortunes… Jeremiah 29:12-14, ESV.

Great! What next?

Well, don’t forget about confessing sins to Him and ask for His help! Here’s a good one I use on a daily basis!

Keep your servant from deliberate sins! Don’t let them control me. Then I will be free of guilt and innocent of great sin. Psalm 19:13, NLT.

And then, sister friends, PRAY!

“And when you pray, don’t be like the people who don’t know God. They say the same things again and again. They think that if they say it enough, their god will hear them. Don’t be like them. Your Father knows what you need before you ask him. So this is how you should pray:

‘Our Father in heaven,

we pray that your name will always be kept holy.

We pray that your kingdom will come—

that what you want will be done here on earth, the same as in heaven.

Give us the food we need for today.

Forgive our sins,

just as we have forgiven those who did wrong to us.

Don’t let us be tempted,

but save us from the Evil One.’ [b] Matthew 6:7-13, ERV.

Now we are free to see God and have Him reveal Himself to us!

Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. Anyone who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.” John 14:21, TNIV.

So there you have it. A path to get your blue dot and God’s red dot (see Tuesday’s post for THAT explanation!) lined up so you are on His page!

Thanks for walking with me today, my friends, and learning how to be more than a good Bible study girl in our thoughts!

If you are following the study at home with us, please read and complete Days 4-6 of Session 5 in the Participant Guide! Listen to Francesca Battistelli’s song, “Strangely Dim”! Memorize or rewrite this week’s scripture located at the top of this blog (Isaiah 55:8-9)! Make a comment here on the blog for a chance to win a cool prayer journal!

…AND – have a great weekend!

Up next week:  Can you see me now?

Peace,

Wendie

2 responses »

  1. So as much as I don’t like the hard stuff, I have to be grateful that you make me think about it. I do not like to think about Satan, in fact I almost cringe when you (or anyone) brings up the concept of him. I think I fear that it will give him power in my life, if I’ve given him the time of day. Perhaps I need to wake up face my fears and realize not acknowledging his presence and burying my head in denial is not the best answer. How bout I say to him as brilliant Erin (one of my super cool small groupees) told us she does, “In the name of Jesus Christ, you are not welcome here!” Not in my thoughts, not in my life, not in the sins I will commit each day. Instead I will work alongside my Lord and the Holy Spirit towards keeping Gods commands.
    love and blessings.
    Lyn

Leave a Reply

