Hide it under a bushel? NO! I’m gonna let it shine!

Standard

 

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine!” Matthew 5:14-15, The Message.

When I was little and going to sleep, I always wanted a light on in my room, or at least in the hallway outside my room! I was an anxious little girl, afraid that something evil was lurking under my bed, in my closet, or just around the corner. Something about having a light on made me feel better.

Light provides us with the perception of color (you cannot tell a blue shoe from a black one in the dark – I know this from personal experience…)! It provides warmth (a roaring fire on a blustery winter day), beauty (think “candlelight”), and can even improve our moods (like sunshine after days and days of dreary skies – or maybe that just happens here in the Midwest)!

Light can always shine and is MOST evident in the darkness, isn’t it? You can always pop on a flashlight to reassure yourself the darkness can be overcome. Even after the darkest of nights, the sun ALWAYS comes up the next day – even if clouded over a bit.

When Jesus calls us to be light, he calls us to be a human representation of HOPE! Just like salt creates interest and flavor, light creates attention and draws things to it. When we shine the light of Christ in the world, others cannot help but to have their gaze turn toward it.

But acting as light also requires that we share it! One candle can only light another if it is brought close. In other words, we can only ignite the fire of God in others by drawing our own light close to them!

Consider this awesome quote from one of current favorite books:

“God’s goal isn’t simply to fill the world with people who believe the right things. It is to fill the world with people who shine with the brilliance of Christ.” (Sitting at the feet of Rabbi Jesus, Ann Spangler and Lois Tverberg.)

And by shining that brilliance, we illuminate the hearts and minds of others for him! Yes, being salt allows us to be God’s spicy little evangelists! But being light allows us to be His shooting stars and comets, encouraging others to grab onto the blazing trail that leads us directly home to Him! Is there anything more exciting than that?! I don’t think so!

If you are following along at home with our great Bible study, Becoming More than a Good Bible Study Girl, it is with a bittersweet heart that I tell you we are officially on our very last week! Please complete days 4-6 of the Participant Guide, which will take you to the final pages of both the book and the guide! WOOHOO for you – you will be the excited owner of a completed Bible study! God is very proud of you and so am I! Thanks for staying the course with us, making great comments here on the blog, and for your prayers, prayer requests, emails, and text messages! It has been a blessing, privilege and honor to walk through this season with you. Next Tuesday, I’ll have the final post of this particular study.

Now, lest you think Stringing Pearls with Wendie is going offline or something CRAZY like that, let me put your mind at ease – it’s NOT! I’ve got big, JOY-FILLED plans for us this summer and you’re going to like what is up my sleeve, I promise! So stay tuned for next week – the closing of this study AND some pretty cool announcements for study and growing opportunities for some crazy cool fun in the sun (and maybe a nice salt rimmed glass of something cold…)!

Up Next Week: You ARE More than a Good Bible Study Girl!

Peace and love,
Wendie

6 responses »

  1. Shine on!
    Thank you for choosing to let His light shine through you. Your candle shines brightly and I KNOW you have lit the candles of many through this study.
    Until the whole world knows

    • Oops…(technical difficulty)… Until the whole world knows His name, be light to world! Candles lit together with hands raised in praise together we can dispel the darkness!
      Thanks for fueling the fire of His love.

      Can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve!

      • Yes, yes, yes!!!! Until the WHOLE world knows His mighty and beautiful name! You go, sister friend! The darkness can NEVER overpower His light! PRAISE BE TO GOD!!! 🙂

  2. I’ve been a bit of a “bible study stalker” as I am not officially part of your study, but I eagerly await your thought provoking blogs that appear in my inbox. They are such a wonderful “enrichment” to my BSF bible study. Thanks so much for letting YOUR light shine –even to “the stalkers” ;). I am so excited that you will be continuing them over the summer. Keep shining. ☀

Leave a Reply

