Celebrate good times – c’mon!!!

Standard

Today is my beautiful sister’s birthday. She is such a light of FUN in my life! She is cute, silly, wonderful, hilarious, smart, clever, sly, and did I mention GORGEOUS?! Yep. You might think it’s hard to be her LITTLE sister (sorry, just had to get it in there that I’m YOUNGER). But it’s not hard because she’s pretty awesome, so I kinda just like sayin: she’s mine! Happy Birthday, Kiki La Rue! We both ALWAYS love a good TIARA!!!!

Kiki and Me

So I thought, in honor of her, we could spend today celebrating! Celebrating what, you ask?! Well, the fact that our very first Pure Joy Dinner is in just FIVE SHORT DAYS! And do you know what? I am bursting at the seams to share a few fun deets of the night with you!

I don’t want to give away TOO much here because some things have to be a surprise for those who are attending! But here is a little sneak peak of a few things “on tap” for the night!

Adorable paper plates adorned with ribbons (how pinterest-y of us?!) for appetizers and dessert:

Plates for 1st dinner
We are all bringing copies of our favorite cookbooks to give away! (No worries – we all get to come home with a brand-spankin’ new one!) Here is the one I’m bringing to give away (shhhhh!):

Great good food

I cannot reveal the entire menu at this point, but here’s a sneak peak at the one of the main courses (YUMMY salads with gorgeously roast chicken, beautifully cooked and chilled shrimp, and expertly prepared beef tenderloin as add-ins  – this one expertly prepared by Tammy and Kait!):

Tammy Salads

A pretty little handmade booklet of “graces” as party favors handmade by ME!!!!:

table graces

If you aren’t a regular reader around here, you may be wondering what all the fuss is about and why we are having this Pure Joy Dinner! Well, it’s about community. It’s about faith. It’s about sister friendship. It’s about celebrating life around the table! We’re learning about Godly hospitality (it’s a command!). We are sharing food and making memories; talking about fears, promises kept, or maybe even forgotten. It’s about walking life together as sisters in Christ. And it’s about FUN!

I’ve been learning so much about these things from two great books: Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequest and Table Life by Joanne Thompson. Next Monday here on the blog, I’ll be talking about what those books have done in my own soul and what I hope they might do for you, too! I sure hope you check back here.

In the meantime, let me just say, KEEP SINGING! You ARE ten feet tall (see Monday’s post…). And if the spirit moves you, say a little prayer for my beautiful sister who turns 29 (*wink*) today! Every princess deserves a million prayers on her birthday, don’t you think?! I do.

Every time I think of you, I thank my God. And whenever I mention you in my prayers, it makes me happy. This is because you have taken part with me in spreading the good news from the first day you heard about it. God is the one who began this good work in you, and I am certain that he won’t stop before it is complete on the day that Christ Jesus returns. Philippians 1:3-6, CEV.

Up Monday: Bread + Wine = LOVE!

Peace, love, and JOY!

Wendie

8 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday to “Sister”!
    Ooooo these dinners are sooooo exciting. How fun is having fun TOGETHER in PURE JOY!!!

Leave a Reply

