Here’s the story, of a LOVELY lady…!

Standard

Did you ever watch The Brady Bunch? Oh please tell me you did! I mean, come on! Was there ever a better show?!  Everything about that show was spot-on and hilarious, from the groovy lingo and clothing down to the ridiculously unbelievable plots – that we all somehow managed to buy into!

The brady bunch

I loved all the episodes, I think, because there was ALWAYS a moral of the story that I could relate to! My sister and I can still quote all the famous lines from Marcia, Jan, Cindy, and the boys: “Something suddenly came up…!” “Mom always said, ‘Don’t play ball in the house’…”. “I’m not a snitch, I just tell it like it is.”

And I bet if you are anything like us, you can sing – BY HEART – every single song The Silver Platters sang (“When it’s time to change you’ve got to rearrange…” AND “Think I’ll go for a walk outside now, the summer sun’s callin’ my name…”). Go ahead – I’ll pause here a moment while you sing a few bars. You know you want to!!! (It’s making me giggle just thinking about you singing right now!!!)

Probably one of my favorite episodes was the one where Jan is fed up from all the attention Marcia gets and she tells her parents, “Well, all day long at school I hear how great Marcia is at this or how wonderful Marcia did that! Marcia, Marcia, Marcia!” Of course, Mike and Carol say all the right things and reboot Jan’s confidence in being the person she was created to be. Wouldn’t it be great if we all had our own Mikes and Carols who could, in 22 minutes (30 with commercial breaks, of course), speak Truth into our spirits for a little reboot of our own?!

If you know me, you know I LOVE the book of Esther. It simply rocks my heart and soul for reasons that I could spend the next 10 weeks writing about. I’ll spare you that for now (you’re welcome). But as I was thinking about it the other day, I thought that maybe Esther’s Uncle Mordecai does a little Jan Brady reboot on Esther, himself! I think I’m going to start calling him the Biblical Mike Brady!

esther 414

In a beautiful, life-changing moment of a sort of “parental-chiding-but-also-trying-to-boost-your-confidence”, Mordecai reminds Queen Esther of who she is, what’s she’s been given, and what she should be doing with it! And her actions from that “pep talk” result in her single handedly saving the Jews from annihilation and God’s chosen people live on!

We’ve been given gifts, characteristics, positions, and circumstances for a reason. This is our time. This is our place. Right here. Right now. This is where (and WHEN) we are supposed to be! Let’s not slip into Jan Brady mode and wish we were someone else, covet someone else’s position, or lament the gifts we have.

Instead, let’s USE what we’ve been given in order to live out – in Godly confidence and JOY – what we were put here to do. Your purpose and destiny are based first and foremost on your standing with God! Once we are in a deep and loving relationship with Him, following hard after Him, He will bring our strengths into the light (and even use our weaknesses) to see His will done through us here on Earth!

Esther realized she was here for such a time and place as this. You are too.

It’s not about “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia!” It’s about Jesus and You.

From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.  Luke 12:48b, NIV.

Like Esther, you’ve been given more than you can imagine, sweet friends. Ann Voskamp recently suggested that we are the Esther Generation. I’d like to take that one step further and say, “Let’s start an Esther REVOLUTION” – changing the world, one palace gate at a time.

Open the gates of your own little world and see what might just happen!

And speaking of opening gates, my very good sister friend, Kim, is doing just that for over 30 women tomorrow night! That’s right! It’s time for our Pure Joy Dinner #2! This time, we’re having a Mexican Fiesta and celebrating “Our Favorite Things”! Here’s a sneak peek into what’s going on:

Every good fiesta deserves a really good margarita, don’t you think?! Our JOY wouldn’t be complete without this Pink Lemonade Margarita found on (where else?!) Pinterest:

pink lemonade margarita

Inspired by the song from “The Sound of Music”, party goers will be bringing packages of their favorite things to give away! I cannot wait to see what everyone else is bringing! Mine, of course, will be in brown paper packages tied up with string! But if you want to just see ONE thing I’m including in my packages, I’ll give you a little look into my latest summer obsession! (EOS Lemon Drop Lip Gloss!)

eos lemon drop

Just like last time, I’ll post pictures from the night here on the blog later this week (Thursday, I think!). You never know – you might be able to see a few of those shots earlier on the Stringing Pearls with Wendie Facebook page by Wednesday if I’m technologically coordinated enough to do that! Wouldn’t that be joyous?!

And speaking of JOY (!), here’s what’s on the docket for this week of our Pure Joy Summer Series:

1. Rewrite/memorize this week’s scripture: Esther 4:14!!

2. Listen to “Gold” by Britt Nicole. Okay, it’s kind of a summertime, tween girly tune (Elle loves it!), but it definitely makes me happy and I LOVE the message!

3. Keep reading! I just started The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan!

4. Come to the Pure Joy Fiesta #2 dinner tomorrow at Kim’s if you are local! Check back here later this week for photos and a recap of the night!

5. Continue with the Joy Dare! I have been recording mine in a journal lately instead of photographing! Shake things up a little to keep it fresh!

Have a beautiful week, sweet friends! And for your viewing pleasure, click here for a Brady Bunch giggle!

Up Thursday: A Photo Montage and Recap of Pure Joy Dinner #2!

Peace, love, and JOY!

Wendie

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

