What I Learned From Josh in the Drive-Thru (Lessons from a Diet Coke…)

Standard

beginning of fairies

“When the first baby laughed for the first time, its laugh broke into a thousand pieces, and they all went skipping about, and that was the beginning of fairies.”   

J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

Come ON.  I mean come OOOOOOON.  Do you LOVE that quote or what?!  Can you even imagine the smile on the face of God the moment you first giggled? Can you fathom the reach and strength of the joy you bring into this world with just the simplest of smiles?

As you may know, I have a mighty big obsession with my morning Diet Coke from McDonald’s.  It has the EXACT amount of perfect ice (clear, semi-cubed with a touch of shaved-ness), carbonation that almost burns your throat (in a very good way!) with that first sip, and the awesomeness of the proprietary blend that Coca-Cola ONLY only McD’s to use (well, that might just be an urban legend…)!  Regardless, it’s delish. 

And I mean DELISH with a capital D-E-L-I-S-H.

diet coke

You coffee people don’t know what you are missing.  Just saying.

I’m actually super lucky because I have two great things that go hand in hand with the taste of my morning soda.  One:  my husband gets his sweet-self up early each day to get a coffee from “The ‘Bucks” (for him) AND my deliciousness of Diet Coke from McDonalds.  Every single day that he can.  Without fail.  Love that man.  And for many reasons that go above and beyond those Diet Coke runs!  (Thank you, Bo!)

And, two:  on the rare days that Bo cannot go because he’s out of town, I have the sweet pleasure of going myself and being greeted by my friend, Josh, who works the drive-thru.  Josh is a rock star in my book.  He is the perfect blend of efficiency, cuteness, and PURE JOY.  This guy literally makes my day with a smile!  I honestly will tell you that there are moments I think his smile is going to burst into a million little fairies that bring giggles to everyone around him. I told him that very thing the other day and he grabbed my hand in the drive-thru and gave it a huge squeeze!  I smiled the rest of the day!

I seriously love this kid – as does everyone in my family.  If you are ever in our area, you gotta promise me to stop by and see him, but you better hurry.  I’ve called the corporate office of McDonalds to praise this guy about 10 times.  He’s going places, this Josh!

The thing is, I think Josh knows a secret.  Can you guess what it is?  Don’t you WANT to know what it is?

It’s the power of a positive attitude.

Is there anything more precious and infectious than a really great smile that is backed up with an amazing attitude?  I don’t think so!  And that’s exactly one of the biggest things I’ve wanted so much to impart upon you this summer.

Just keep singing

We haven’t been placed here for “such a time and place as this” (Esther 4:14)  to be miserable, my sweets.  Quite the opposite. There is power in a smile.  Soulful relief in the giggles.  Triumph in optimism.  JOY in contentedness.  LIFE through Jesus.

The moment you CHOOSE joy, you release the power of the Holy Spirit into this world, which is a place that desperately needs it.  It comes from Him, through you, to others.  It’s a gift; it’s a choice; and it’s up to you.

Scripture tells us there is a time and place for all things, including emotions.  Join me (and Josh!) today in spreading a little happiness in this world.  I TRIPLE DOG DARE YOU.  And, as you should know by now, you cannot refuse a Triple Dog Dare.  Somewhere that is written 😉 …

No matter what “choosing joy” might look like in your day today, here are a few ideas from the incredible Ann Voskamp.  Check it out – I bet you LOVE the idea and can find at least one thing to do to spread some joy today!  Click here!

God bless you in incredible ways today, sweet friends!

Up Monday:  Let’s (w)rap it up!

Peace, love, and JOY!

Wendie

6 responses »

  1. Singing on this first day of school. Abby and I were singing Rain Rain Go Away…Abby and Mommy want to play! I choose JOY and singing as we enter this new chapter. Love to you and all the sister friends today.

Leave a Reply

