Morning Glory Monday…a little something to light up your day!

Standard

I am giddy with glory this morning!  I am on fire for the love of God because He is showing His beautiful face through the random acts of kindness, mercy, and grace of people all over this globe.

Today, we begin what I HOPE is going to be an uplifting, 10 week “mini-series within our Fall Series”! Let’s just call this little mini-series of ours “Morning Glory Mondays”, shall we?!

morning glory mondays

Mondays aren’t always our most favorite of days, are they?  They usually involve more of a dazed back-to-school, back-to-work, or back-to-the-ole-daily-grind sort of feeling, rather than a “I’m ready to take on this day with a smile and a song!” one.

I don’t know about you, but I want more.  MORE than just a resigned sigh as I drop my daughter at school, kiss my husband goodbye, and return to my domestic trivia and my workplace to get back on the hamster wheel of weekday life.  Can I get an AMEN?!

So I thought it would be GREAT to start looking around for inspiration.  People, places, pets, etc. that just exude the glory of our God most high, but through average, everyday expressions of it that remind us that we really don’t have to look too hard to find Him!  We just need to let Him LIFT UP OUR HEADS for a minute or two! Don’t look away! He’ll be passing by at any moment!

So…I found some cool things to share with you and to remind you (and ME!) of what it means to be God’s hands and feet!  I want to start off this mini-series today with a story I read about last week that conveys the power of one person’s small, random act of generosity and kindness:

“A North Carolina family with an epileptic child was given a touching gift on Friday when an anonymous stranger paid for their dinner at a restaurant, leaving them a note that is, not surprisingly, going viral online.

The note read: ‘God only gives special children to special people.’

God only gives special children to special people

The message was delivered to Ashley England and her family, including her 8-year-old son, Riley, at the Stag-N-Doe pizza restaurant in China Grove, N.C., on Friday by a waitress.

‘I’ll try to do this without crying,’ the waitress told the family, according to WBTV.com. ‘But another customer has paid for your bill tonight and wanted me to give you this note.’

England said Riley, who is nonverbal, gets frustrated because he can’t speak, and he had been especially rowdy during the meal.

She said the mystery diner’s random act of kindness brought her to tears.

‘To have someone do that small act towards us shows that some people absolutely understand what we are going through and how hard it is to face the public sometimes,’ she said. ‘They made me cry, blessed me more than they know. I felt like out of all the rude negative comments that we are faced with, these outweighs them. The people who care. Little did he know what struggles we had been facing lately, and this was surely needed at that moment.’

England posted the note on Facebook with a message of her own: ‘Dear stranger, thank you for giving me a blessing tonight in a way you will never know.’

(Click here for the link to the full story online.)

Isn’t that so incredibly heartwarming?!  Will you stand with me and let this one story today serve as a reminder that God is alive and well and living through the hands and feet of one amazing and glorious stranger who lifted the heads of a weary couple who were at their wits end?  The blessings of the Lord are infinite!

How many times have you felt God tugging at your heart to do something similar? To step up and bless someone simply because you CAN? I challenge you to follow in the footsteps of this anonymous dinner donor, and next time you feel that tug, TAKE COURAGE and act on it!  Be the glory of God to someone else, will you?  You will be rewarded in ways you couldn’t possibly imagine.

I pray this lifted your spirits this morning and provided you with a smile and a desire to pay some of that glory forward today.  If it inspired you, made you smile, or even turned that “Monday frown upside down” just a little, please share this story with your co-workers over coffee; with your best friend over lunch; with your family over dinner. Share it with your beloved over a glass of wine tonight when the house is still but you aren’t quite ready for bed. Let thoughts of His infinite glory and love for you, for me, for this couple and their son, fill you with joy.  He IS, indeed, the lifter of our heads!

And in case you have forgotten (and really, how could you?!), our BIBLE STUDIES start this week!  Our first group meets tomorrow, another on Wednesday, and then the third on Thursday!  We are so excited to get this chain gang movin’!  Don’t forget that you should have already read Chapter One of You’re Already Amazing and completed the Go Deeper Guide questions on page 195 and 196!

Check back here on Thursday for a recap of what we did in our local studies this week and to find out your homework for next week!  I’ll give you our memory verse for the week, a link to the song of the week, PLUS, I’ll let you in on ALL the goodies the girls got this week (and you may just get chance to win a full set of goodies for yourself ;)…)

Have a great start to your week, everyone!

Up Thursday:  Me, Myself and I vs. Me, Myself and LIFE

Peace, love, and joy!

Wendie

9 responses »

  1. Amen! You have no idea how much this post was an answer to the prayers of my doubting heart. I have been struggling for some days as to how an action I felt was God inspired would be received. Truly I can and never need to know, only follow His direction and do His will.

  2. Loved this, Wendie! Thanks for getting my Monday off to a great start (especially for this admittedly non-morning gal!). Looking forward to tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

