#really? (What’s up with the hash tag labels?!)

Standard

When I was in the first grade, I honestly thought I was one of the “most amazing-est” people in the world.  Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t think I was any better than you, or anything like that.  I thought we were all equally amazing, because that’s the way God made us!

You may have heard me say this before, but at that age, I would walk down the hallways of my school, full on singing the theme song to The Mary Tyler Moore Show. You know the one.  It starts with “Who can turn the world on with her smile?  Who can take a nothing day, and suddenly make it all seem worthwhile?  Well it’s you girl and you should know it!  With each glance and every little movement you show it!”

But, then…

Somewhere around third grade, I started to lose the tune.  And then somewhere around fifth grade, I totally forgot the words.  I wasn’t so convinced I was amazing anymore.  Other voices and songs started to play that weren’t nearly as kind and uplifting.

My eyes, ears, and mind started to perceive information that was in no way affirming.  And my self-image began to be formed by labels and opinions based on my emotions, and by the words and actions of the world.  By my mid-teens, Mary Tyler Moore was an embarrassing memory that cut to my core if I even dared to let myself think of her and the person I once thought myself to be.

What happened?  Why could I no longer believe that the God who told me I was so glorious at age six still felt that same way about me? 

I allowed the world to happen. I got caught up in my own flesh.  My eyes played cruel tricks on my body image through media images, distorted lenses, and just plain insecurity.  My ears tuned into a totally different station that played cruel tricks on my perception of what was being said by others.  My mind gave into the pressure and folly of my emotions.  My senses turned against me.  And I bought into those labels and lies – hook, line, and sinker.

And sink I did.  No more “turning the world on with my smile”.  No more believing I could “make anyone’s day worthwhile”.  Like many of us, I gave up control to the one who came to steal, kill, and destroy instead of trusting in the One who came to give life.

john 10 10

I branded myself with labels that were not true, affirming, or life giving.  Have you ever done the same thing?

If so, take heart and keep reading!

Are you familiar with the social media practice of hash tagging?  Basically, a hash tag is a typed label you place on something to give it significance in social media (mostly on Twitter and Instagram, at least I think…!).

For instance, if you are all excited about the Chicago Bears NFL football team (and let’s just face it, really, who isn’t?!), you could make a remark on social media like “I love the Bears!” and finish your remark with #gobears or something equally as original…;).  You can then search those same social media sites for other people who may be hash-tagging similarly to you in order to track it.

It started out as all fun and games, really.  A way to sort of “brand” or tag things you like and see who else likes them too.  Of course, like anything else, it’s gotten a little out of hand.  Things that once were “cool” to be branded (i.e. #hipster – a cool person) now can be seen as sarcastic put-downs.  A way to draw attention to a positive event (#gobears) is now often used as a critical label.

Here’s the thing.  No matter how you look at it, a label is nothing more than an opinion at best, and a lie at it’s worst, unless it’s been ascribed to you by God himself.

Here’s what Holley Gerth has to say about that in our current chapter of You’re Already Amazing:

“We have a choice between living in the truth and giving in to the flesh.  And what we pick ultimately shapes us and the course of our lives….The accusations and lies in our lives come in different ways…Whatever the source, God’s intent remains the same:  TO REPLACE THOSE LIES WITH TRUTH.”  (emphasis mine)

Holley Gerth, You’re Already Amazing, copyright 2012

Let’s stop letting our eyes, ears, minds, hearts, and HASH TAGS dictate who we really are, shall we?  Our worth and amazingness come from Him – not from anyone or anything else.  This is my prayer for YOU, your daughters, your loved ones, and for me  – that we know the Truth of who we are because of who lives in us!

We are each as varied as the many hash tags this world could even begin to imagine to describe us. Our gifts are all different, yet equally as important.  Our bodies are beautiful, regardless of size, shape, color, and working ability.  Our bent for service to others is (GRATEFULLY) so unique, only a God like ours could have thought it all. His labels are glorious and endless.  THAT is something to celebrate!

1 cor 12 4-6

What a great piece of TRUTH to end on today, sweet friends!  It’s time to believe Truth.  Let’s throw out the world’s labels together (well, except maybe these three totally awesome hash tags…):

  • #ibelieveimstillmarytylermoore
  • #rockonsisterfriends
  • #imadeyougloriousxoxogod

So, here we are on week THREE of our Fall Series:  “I Made You Glorious!  xoxo, God!” Here’s what’s on the agenda:

  1.  Rewrite/memorize our scripture treasure of the week: 1 Corinthians 12:4-6, NLT.
  2. Listen to our wonderful tune of the week by 10th Avenue North, “You Are More”! It is AMAZING! Click here for the video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IwtcwQwgdsA
  3. Read Chapter 4 of our Bible study book, You’re Already Amazing by Holley Gerth.  Complete the Go Deeper Guide questions for Chapter 4 on pages 200-202 at the back of the book.

Our winners of the complete set of I Made You Glorious fall series 2013 goodie bags are (drumroll please):  Maria and Steffamie!!!  You’ll get an email this week asking for your mailing addresses so we can get them out to you ASAP!  Congrats and enjoy, ladies!

Peace, love, and so much joy!

Wendie

Up Monday:  Monday Glory Monday  – Even a commercial can be glorious!

4 responses »

  1. Oh Wendie….I love You Are More and the video is the best. I discovered it when depressed and going through my divorce. Helped me in my journey to forgive myself. I also sent it to Mike when we were talking about getting back to together (after the divorce was final). He loved it for awhile, but in the end reconciliation wasn’t in the cards. Too much shame, guilt and unforgiveness I think. Anyway, thanks for putting it back in my life and Thanks for the goody bags!!!

    • Steffanie! So glad the Lord ministered to you! Isn’t it amazing how He just seems to be able to find a way to speak directly to your heart exactly when you need it? I am so sorry to know you went through such sorrow. I am glad you have God, sweet friend! I am excited to get your goodie bag to you! Email me your address and I’ll get it out right away! Much love!

Leave a Reply

