My Letter To Satan

Standard

I know.  Probably not what you expected from me on a Morning Glory Monday – a “Letter to Satan”.  Not what I was expecting to post today, either.  But the Holy Spirit is stirring the pot of my heart today, sweet friends, and I had a little revelation or two, thanks to a young girl from Pakistan whose courage moved me to action.

Have you seen the following clip of Jon Stewart’s interview with Malala Yousafzai?  What an amazing young girl!  You can click here to read her whole story, in case you don’t know it. http://www.cnn.com/2013/10/09/world/asia/malala-shooting-anniversary/

What struck me – as in AWESTRUCK me – in this interview was Malala’s response to what she would say to a Talib (a Taliban soldier) were one to come again to harm her.  Her response (see starting about at 4:20 on this clip) is amazing.

Glorious, revelational, and amazing.

THAT is how you fight evil.  You stop worrying about when it’s coming and what you’re going to do when it does.  Instead, you decide to tell evil why you will not bow down to it and you tell evil your reasons why.  You tell evil that you wish for everyone – even for EVIL, itself –   to know the glory and wonder of the Goodness you know to be true.

So, inspired by Malala’s example, I decided to figure out what I’d say to Satan the next time he comes to try to “kill, steal, and destroy”.  Here it is:

Dear Evil,

I’m tired of worrying about you.  I’m sick of wondering when you and your thugs are going to attempt to swoop in and steal my joy, kill my spirit, or destroy my hope.  I loathe the thought of each moment I’ve spent planning what I would do if you were to (insert any one of my fears here).  I’m done standing by and idly watching as you take Peace and try to trash it.

I am a daughter of the One True God, saved by the blood of Jesus Christ.

And, because of that fact, I’d like to point out some pretty powerful Truths that you may, or may not, be aware of:

God made me in His image and therefore, I am glorious.  There is nothing you can do about that.  So, in the name of Jesus, back off trying to make me think otherwise. (Genesis 1:27)

Even your own workforce flees and trembles at the name of our mighty God and Savoir, Jesus Christ.  You have no power over Him.  He trumps all. (James 2:19, James 4:7)

The Lord is my strong tower, one that no one and nothing can topple. (Proverbs 18:10)

Through Him, we have been granted all authority and over you and the principalities and power of this world…and that means as long as we are operating in Him and with His grace and mercy, in the name of Jesus, we have that authority over you, too. (Isaiah 54:17, Ephesians 1:21)

As much as you’d like us to think you have it all figured out, there is only ONE omnipotent, omniscient, and omnipresent being:  GOD.  That means you don’t know the future, you can’t read our minds, and you cannot be everywhere at the same time.  In other words, you don’t know how any of this is going to turn out.  Therefore, in the mighty name of Jesus, I refuse to give you any power over it. (1 Peter 1:11-12, Ephesians 2:2)

I am never alone.  God orders His angels to protect us wherever we go. THE GOD OF ANGEL ARMIES IS ALWAYS BY MY SIDE.  (Psalm 91:11)

You know those “things” you like to continually try to hang over our heads?  He’s already forgiven us for “that”, and “that”, and “that”….so I’m not going to fall into a guilt trap anymore. (Acts 10:42-43, 2 Corinthians 5:18-19, Ephesians 1:7-10)

Oh, and those “things” you like to try to make us think He cannot possibly control better than we can on our own?  Well, He can.  And will.  With prosperity and goodness. He knows what is best. And I believe Him.  (Jeremiah 29:11, Isaiah 55:8-9)

Jeremiah 29 11 Postcard

He loves us more than you could ever even imagine.  (Psalm 139, Isaiah 31:3, Isaiah 49:15-16)

I could go on, but I think we’re both getting the picture.  These are my personal battlefields, I’m going to fight them using Truth in this war.

(And, by the way, you should be aware that Jesus wins the war.)

Yeah.  I know.  You’re probably still going to try and trip me up.  Your arrows may still get through a chink in my armor now and again.  But I’ll do my best to fight you.  For the One who is in me is far greater than you. (1 John 4:4).  So, in the end, Jesus still wins.

And, yeah.  I know bad things are still going to happen on this side of heaven. (John 16:33)  But I ALSO know He’s got it under control and already working it out for good (Romans 8:28) and doesn’t leave me here to do it by myself (Isaiah 42:16, 1 Corinthians 10:13).

Just thought we both ought to get all that straight.  The Truth, I mean.  As proclaimed by GOD – not by you.

Oh, and one more thing:  Jesus is coming backAnd by all accounts, He wins that day, too.

IN THE MIGHTY NAME OF JESUS,

Wendie

Sweet sister friends, in Christ Jesus, we have the power to not only resist evil, but actually defeat it.  Let’s use it.  Fight with me, girls!  We have been given holy armor for this expressed purpose (Ephesians 6)!  But that’s a post for another day…

Up Thursday:  Riding Out the Ruts on the Journey!

3 responses »

  1. Right on!! Loved this and the hand out today…and being in small group today with you. Thank you today and everyday for the impact on my life!!

Leave a Reply

