Me Want Cookies…and The Glory of God, Too!

Standard

All earthly things are the shadows of heavenly realities – the expression, in created, visible forms, of the invisible glory of God.  Andrew Murray, The True Vine

This year, for the school Halloween party, my daughter and a few of her friends are dressing up as characters from the iconic PBS children’s show, Sesame Street.  While I was looking online for costume ideas, I got the giggles when I saw the following photo of a sea sponge that looks a LOT like Sesame Street character, Cookie Monster!

Cookie Monster Our Planet

How fun is that?!  If you are interested in what it is and how the picture came to be taken, click here for the full article on Huffington Post!  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/25/cookie-monster-sea-sponge-photo_n_3991595.html

When I was little, I would ponder the wonders of God’s creation, and my mind almost always would go directly to thinking about animals.  Yes, I could see the beauty of creation in plant life, mountains, rainbows and waterfalls, and of course, in human beings!  But I was always so amazed that God would create such diverse and crazy cool living beings not only for our enjoyment, but for His!  He made them because He could.  He made them because it brought Him joy!  He made them to convince us of His goodness, His mercy, His goodness, AND – in my humble opinion – His sense of humor… 😉 !

And in my overwhelming awe of the glory of His animal creations, I would be completed flabbergasted that there are people in this world who deny the existence of God.  How could that be?!  Did they not see the genius behind it all?  I’d think, “God – just OPEN THEIR EYES to Your glory!”

For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made, they can clearly see his invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature. So they have no excuse for not knowing God. Romans 1:20 NLT

As I’ve gotten older, I’m ashamed to say that sometimes I neglect to marvel at His glorious creations like I used to.  Maybe I’ve just gotten too used to them, taken them for granted.  But that hilariously sweet picture of a morphed sea sponge above helped to recalibrate my sense of wonder! (And if you needed a little wake-up nudge, I hope it did the same for you, too!)

Our God is an awesome God. 

Yes, he is mighty and powerful and just and righteous.  But you know what?  He’s also winsome, light-hearted, and loves to make us smile. 

cookie monster quote

Pardon me while I go gets some cookies and ponder THAT!

Have a GLORIOUS Monday!

Peace, love, GLORY (and cookies!),

Wendie

See you back here this Thursday!

6 responses »

  1. O my! Nailed it. Today I will ponder the glory of God. “I will live in the moment unless it’s unpleasant in which case I will eat a cookie.” Mumu

Leave a Reply

