Put One Foot in Front of the Other!

Standard

I’m a total sucker for those stop-motion, animated Christmas shows from my childhood.  If you watch television at all during the holidays, you’ll know what I’m talking about:  Rudolph, The Year without a Santa Claus (come on – how can you beat Heat Miser?!), and the ubiquitous Santa Claus is Coming to Town!  There is something so endearing about the crazy little characters singing upbeat tunes to usher you right into the holiday spirit!

In case you’ve never seen one, click the box below to see one of my favorite clips from Santa Claus is Coming to Town!  Kris Kringle convinces the Abominable Snowman that effecting change in your life is as easy as walking – just start with one small step, and simply put one foot in front of the other!

SO fun, right?! And those catchy lyrics are also pretty applicable to ANY change we want to make in our lives in general!  It’s kind of like what Holley Gerth calls the “Do What You Can Plan” in chapter 9 of You’re Already Amazing!

Her “plan” about doing what you can, when you can do it, baby step by baby step.  It’s about remaining positive in the face of set-backs and insecurity.  It’s about focusing on what you CAN do instead of what you can’t.  And it’s about pushing forward to run the race God has placed in front of you!

run the race

But let’s get real for a second, shall we?  In this life, there are things that threaten to trip us up along the way.  We get sidetracked by people, possessions, power, and our own flesh, too.  These things can ensnare and entrap us and lead us off the course and into the bramble!

So, what’s a committed Bible babe to do when we step off track?  Well, we create ourselves a plan so we can complete the race!

Speaking of races, a friend of mine shared with me her experience of running a marathon.  She told me that when she hit mile 19, it was so excruciatingly difficult and painful that she wanted to quit.  She realized that stopping would provide the relief she desperately was seeking in that moment.

She also realized that stopping meant she would – after the momentary relief passed – be left with a lasting regret of not finishing what she started.  So, she developed a plan to stay in the race and finish those last 7.2 miles.  She decided to break it down and simply run from water station to water station, stopping to get a drink, and then move on to the next water station and so on, until she reached the finish line.

I’m excited to tell you it worked!  She was no longer fixated on the pain that would increase as she ran 7.2 more miles.  She focused on the refreshment that would nourish and sustain her through to the end of the race.  And indeed, she finished the race, with a personal record under her belt, to boot!

We aren’t so dissimilar to my friend in our own personal races, are we?  We are tempted to quit when the going gets tough.  Even when the race isn’t hard and is just a little mundane or boring, we get complacent, slow down, veer off course to what may look like a more exciting route.

But like my running friend, we have to stay the course God made just for us.  We need to find our water stations along the way to keep us on course to finish the race Paul was talking about in our scripture from last week (click here for a link to the verse)!

We need a plan!  And the word plan implies that we do a little legwork to get things in place before we need to implement it.  So let’s make our own “Living Water Stations Plan” to keep us nourished and on course when circumstances, doubt, physical issues, other people, and our own confusion get in the way!

living water stations

When circumstances have me off track, I will ASK Jesus into my boat and onto my racetrack (see Matthew 14:32)

When I feel anxious, I will BELIEVE this: “God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’ So we say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?’” Hebrews 13:5-6

When I’m doubting my path or my ability to complete the race, I will SAY this: “I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

When I am tired or burnt out, I will PRACTICE doing this: “Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-30

When I feel like someone is blocking my path, I will KNOW this: “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’” Jeremiah 29:11

And, when I’m scrambling to find my way and stay on track, I will REMEMBER this: “Be still and KNOW that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

(If these sound familiar, that means you are super smart!  I adapted them from my In Case of Emergency” safety information card!)

Sweet friends, just keep putting one foot in front of the other, and the next thing you know, you’ll be on track and armed with the skills and knowledge you need to run your race with stamina, determination, and grace.

I can’t believe it, but we only have one week left of this amazing fall Bible study series!  I hope you have loved it as much as I have!  We’ve learned a ton in a short amount of time, haven’t we?!  But I love that we have walked through it all together!  For this final week, here’s whatchya need to do:

And that’s about all, my friends!  Wishing you a wonderful weekend and lots of fun, too!

Peace, love, and JOY!

Wendie

Up Monday:  Glorious Bible Babes – A Tribute to the Ladies of Stringing Pearls with Wendie!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

