“Nice and Easy” is not always “Simple”!

Standard

“I once read that Julia Child said her classic leek and potato soup recipe, while SIMPLE, was not EASY to make.  I love that.  Basically, she was saying that something that appears simple on the outside is not always easy to master or understand. 

Potato Soup

 “Jesus answered, ‘I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.’” John 14:6, NIV.

When I first started to think about the concept of Jesus as Savior, I couldn’t get my head around it.  I mean, it sounds simple enough, right?  He died on the cross as our substitute for our wrong doings and rose again to offer us forgiveness and eternal life.  We comprehend the words individually.  But, gosh, it is NOT easy to understand, is it?

“This concept of salvation can touch off a firestorm with many people.  I have heard people ask, ‘Why is Jesus the only way?’  You know, I don’t know how I can answer that one.  I really don’t.  That’s God’s call, sisters, not mine.  I DO know that God promises that if we seek Him with all of our hearts that He will be found.  He can do anything!  Can He turn the heart of anyone at any moment – even the moment of earthly death?  Yes, He can.  Touch the most skeptical of hearts and create a miracle in it?  Yep, He can.  Because in Christ, all things are possible!”  Wendie Connors, The KISS, page 36.

Just because it’s ain’t easy doesn’t mean it isn’t delicious!  But I DO know that accepting the simplicity of the Gospel message leads us all to eternal life, and there isn’t anything more delicious than that.”  (Copyright 2012, Wendie Connors, all rights reserved.)

Hope you enjoyed this excerpt from my book, Daily Smooches:  Devotions from The K.I.S.S.!  AND I hope you are enjoying the lead-up to Christmas!  Have a great day!

Up Thursday:  The joy of light and color!

Peace, love, and JOY!

Wendie

Leave a Reply

