What Are You So Afraid Of?

Standard

Last fall, my daughter’s school put on a performance of the musical, “The Wizard of Oz”. They did such a fantastic job recreating the scenes, characters, and feel of what so many of us can instantly recall of the movie classic we watched as children! SO much fun!

Of all the songs in the show, my absolute favorite is “Lions and Tigers and Bears, OH MY!”. You know the one I’m talking about!

Lions and Tigers and Bears, OH MY

I love how the characters huddled together, determined to reach their destination, and in order to soothe themselves and strengthen their gumption and courage for their adventure, they sang that awesome, little tune to calm their fears and give them hope! And – OH MY – what an adventure they had, right?!

I, too, want an adventure.

And I, too, want friends to share it with and songs to sing along the way when fear and despair creep in to try and dissuade us from finishing the journey.

See, fear has a way of contaminating our faith. Fear tries to mess with us, saying that even if God has placed us on a path, He won’t see us through. And dark moments of trouble, doubts, and despair can dash our hope that He does indeed have GOOD plans for us and that we are headed somewhere better than where we started.

Anxiety = Faith tricked by fear.
Depression = Hope tricked by despair.
While these feelings may seem very real, they are NOT from God.

Yet, with God, we can RISE above them.

Next week, we’re headed out on a new adventure, aren’t we?! A journey through the Psalms of Ascent. I cannot think of anyone better to huddle with, share it with, and get determined to reach the finish line with than YOU and Beth Moore!

These 15 psalms (SONGS!) we are about to crack open together provide incredible insights into God’s faithfulness, love, tender mercy, protection, and grace. They are songs we can sing to steady our nerves when we get anxious. Songs to bring us hope when darkness threatens to close in. Songs to bring blessing right back to the One who so awesomely blesses us.

And songs we can choose to use to RISE.

I am SO EXCITED!!!!!!!

Every good road trip requires some good trip treats! Here’s a look at a couple things we’ll be using here in our local studies to help us along the way!

First, click here (or the tab above marked RISE 2014) for detailed info on our study!

Click here (or the sub-tab under the RISE 2014 tab above) for a list of great music for the trip!! 😉

Click here (or the sub-tab for RISE 2014 above) for a list of supplemental reading materials! (Not required, just there in case you want to go deeper!)

Annnnnnd…I love souvenirs, don’t you?! Our “local Bible babes”  will be receiving a “travel kit” with lots of fun goodies inside like…:

bookmarks

Everybody needs a good bookmark. And are these, like, the cutest bookmarks EVER? And super easy to make with over-sized paperclips, a hot glue gun, and embellishments of your choice! You can leave me a comment with your email address and I can email you the instructions!

RISE Booklet

This awesome RISE 2014 “guide book” is jam-packed with scripture and thoughts from me on how to LEARN to be honestly  content, regardless of your outward circumstances, by following a four-step process! (I’ll also be talking about it here on the blog throughout our study!)

Okay sweet friends, get your voices tuned up, your trekking shoes on, and meet me on the Yellow Brick Road of our NEW Bible study next week. We’re having ourselves a 16-week adventure!

So what are you waiting for? You know you want to!.

There’s nothing to be afraid of.

Peace, love, and JOY!

Wendie

Up Next Thursday: What in the World are the Psalms of Ascent?!

4 responses »

  1. Hi, Wendie! I am excited for the study to start! And…just had to say I am a KLOVE babe now and I LOOOOOOOOOVVVVEEEE all of these songs! You rock! 🙂 Love, Polly

    > On January 23, 2014 at 9:17 AM Stringing Pearls with Wendie > wrote: > > Wendie J. Connors posted: “Last fall, my daughter’s school put on a > performance of the musical, “The Wizard of Oz”. They did such a fantastic job > recreating the scenes, characters, and feel of what so many of us can > instantly recall of the movie classic we watched as children! SO m” >

    • I’m so excited too, Polly! And the songs we have to carry us along this journey are some of my ALL TIME faves these days! It’s going to be an adventure – that’s for sure, and I’m so glad you are in it with me! Love, Wendie

  2. My journey to trust in the Lord can always use some support. The more I trust, the better and more frequent he gifts me with solutions. I have had a rough few years with some fairly significant risks and yes, I have been afraid. The bigger the risk, the more people I have asked to join me in prayer. And, I have talked to myself about trusting in the Lord. I am looking forward to the Songs. I believe they will help me trust quicker. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

