My Ears are Dying of Thirst

Standard

Thirsty? Me too.
thirsty for more

(And not just for Diet Coke, even though that is basically a given in my little world!)

I know this is going to sound weird, but my ears are thirsty today; thirsting for the soothing, satiating voice of God.

Have you ever had that yearning for His voice? When everything else you hear just feels hallow and meaningless as you take it in and it just cannot satisfy your spirit and that hole in your soul?

Maybe we’re tuned to the wrong station. Maybe we’ve filled our ears with stuff that is so fluffy and trivial that it’s blocking anything of substance from breaking through. Maybe we’re too proud, too scared, too insecure, too stubborn, too tired, too anesthetized to really listen.

“Sound” familiar?

Lord, I need you. Like, really need you to speak to me today. Why can’t I hear you? I want so badly to hear you. Did you forget me? Did you find someone more interesting to talk to? Someone more worthy of your company? Sometimes it feels like that, Lord.

Are You there, God? It’s me – Wendie.

(Go ahead, vintage Judy Blume fans. You can giggle here. Get it out of your systems and come on back!)

And just as I lose hope (or maybe it’s my impatience, Lord – forgive me), You faithfully show up. In the form of a song, a sunrise, a scripture, my family, a friend. You soothe me and speak so sparkly clear through my Bible,  my husband, my daughter, my dogs. The melting of this endless snowy winter, with the promise of spring around the corner.

How could I ever have doubted You? How can You put up with me? WHY do you put up with me?

I’m so glad you do, Lord. Amazing Grace. I need you.

Are you, sweet friends, ever like me? Do you ever just need to hear him? If so, let me offer you a little encouragement today.

God is literally waiting for us to still ourselves enough to discern His voice. He has so much to share with us. We cannot know His will for us without letting Him speak it to us. Hearing God speak to us can take many forms. It’s not always easy, but the more we practice this skill, the better we get at discerning HIS voice over the voices of others!

God’s “voice” is unchangeable and everlasting. He offers guidance, strengthens our faith, and sustains life!

Jesus answered him, “The Scriptures say, ‘It is not just bread that keeps people alive. Their lives depend on what God says.’” Matthew 4:4, ERV

God offers us confidence, hope, protection, salvation, and knowledge when He speaks to us. He strengthens our faith when we can experience that He does what He says He will do!

I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand the confident hope he has given to those he called. Ephesians 1:8, NLT

We can hear God when we read His word (Scripture), when we stop long enough to meditate and feel a stirring in our spirits, when we journal, when we pray, when we experience nature or listen to music. We can hear Him in the wisdom of others (aka wise counsel), and through the prompting of the Holy Spirit (that still, small inner voice!). When those things line up with what you know to be true of God, you can pretty much count on it being from Him! First and foremost – ASK HIM TO SPEAK and have a willingness to listen! Then, we need to act on what He says.

Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know. Jeremiah 33:3, NIV

But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves. James 1:22, NLT

Looking for a little soul beverage from God today? Sit a spell with Him. Quiet yourself to hear what He has to say. 

(And yes; in case you are wondering, this IS our “S” in RISE – Seek his Voice!)

Lord, we need you. Come and quench our thirst for today! We praise you for your faithfulness.

Peace, love, and JOY!
Wendie

Up Next Week:  Veering off course…!

2 responses »

  1. God spoke to me today in the readings at church. I received a lot of hope – when I wasn’t expecting it. Thank you for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

