Because I’m Happy…

Standard

 

 Clap Along

I know. You are probably going to tell me the song is entirely overplayed on the radio these days. I know. But I seriously cannot get enough of it! And the video is beyond a blast and a half to watch! Click here to see what I mean!

Seriously. So. Much. FUN!

Can you even imagine how awesome Pharell Williams must feel spreading the joy like that? What a blessing to be BLESSED by JOY!

And that’s what I want to talk about this week – the JOY in the BLESSING!

If you’ve been following along with us this series, you know we are studying the Psalms of the Ascent and this week, we have really been digging into Psalm 128.

Psalm 128 picks up perfectly where 127 leaves off, and we are once again reminded of the importance of revering God and receiving blessing in all areas of our lives from Him as a result!

Believe, then receive! LOVE it!

Psalm 128 just makes us happy to read, doesn’t it?! (“…clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth…!”)

It was so funny to me reading it over and over again because I thought, “What an antithesis to Facebook these days, or even those Christmas card letters people send out where they basically are like, ‘Hey look at me and my family! Look how blessed we are!'” Don’t get me wrong, I’m not against a little family bragging; we all do it some form or another.

But what I’m saying is, how cool is it that this Psalm does the bragging bit in reverse – the Psalmist tells US how blessed we are And how cool is it that this Psalm might encourage us to do just it in reverse, too – like we can do someone else’s bragging for them as a blessing!

I mean, can you imagine opening a Christmas card from someone where all they do is gush about you and your family? “Oh my goodness!  What a blessing it was to watch Ella improve in her softball skills this year!  I know you must be so proud of her for working so hard and making it look like so much fun!” I think I’d about die from being so blessed!

Or how about logging onto FB and having posts on your page with stuff like, “Man! You are, like, the most blessed person I know! God’s all over you, girl. And don’t even get me started on your awesome kids!”  COME ON!  How cool would that be to not only receive…but to GIVE as a blessing to someone else!

If you know me at all, you know that Joy is my favorite fruit of the Spirit and happiness is basically my all time favorite emotion, so this Psalm honestly just makes me want to dance the whole day long. Seriously reminds me of my Mary Tyler Moore days…(you know, when I used to walk up and down the halls of my elementary school singing MTM show theme song?  Click here if you need that refresher!). 🙂

But most importantly, the lesson of this Psalm lies in this truth quoted from a Hebrew-Greek study Bible commentary: “Biblically, one is pronounced blessed when God is present and involved in his life.”

In other words, if there is even one iota of God’s involvement in your life, girl, you best be considering yourself one blessed sister friend.  Believe it.  Receive it.  And LIVE in joy!

Believing in the Lord allows us to receive blessing from Him.

Blessing makes us resilient people.  People who can weather storms, people who can – as Jesus tells us – have abundance in life and enjoy it every single day. And, most importantly, it makes us people who can, in turn, bless others in His holy name.

schooling in joy

Amen to that, sisters!

So.  What do you think?  Want to pass along a little love to someone else?  Go tell them how blessed they are.  I triple dog dare ya.

Can you believe we only have 5 more Psalms to go?  Time flies, sister friends!  And before you know it, we’ll be announcing the Stringing Pearls with Wendie Summer 2014 series here on the blog…hmmmm, whatever could be up our sleeves THIS year?!

While we wait for that juicy announcement (coming soon, I promise!), take a minute today to watch this music video, “With Every Act of Love” by Jason Gray!  It’s such an awesome reminder that each of us has the blessing and privilege to help bolster someone else’s soul every day we are here! My favorite line of the song is this: “God put a million doors in the world for his light to shine through – one of those doors is You.”  Check it out – you’ll love it!

See you next week!

Peace, love, and JOY!

Wendie

Up Next Week:  Living through Saturday (the limbo land between Good Friday and Easter Sunday)

 

6 responses »

  1. Wendie,
    Yes, I’m still “stalking” you! 😉 LOVE LOVE LOVE this post. What a beautiful reminder of how we can be blessed with joy when we choose to bless others. And I am sooo glad you posted this song. I recently heard it on Klove and loved it, but did not catch the title. Now that I have it, I think I’ll play it all day! Keep me posted on your summer series—I would love to join in. Thanks for all you do to encourage all of us. Have a wonderful day. God bless, Ellen

  2. Love this Psalm-my fav this far! And I have been thinking of you every time I hear “Happy”–makes me smile even more when I hear it! So fun being a joy spreader this week w/ you at BS!!

Leave a Reply

