Decisions, decisions! (Why choosing is so important…)

Standard

 

I read an article once that said the average American makes about 35,000 choices per day. Some big, others not so much. Either way, though, choices have consequences, both good and bad.

josh 24-15

I love that Joshua clearly states that we have a CHOICE on who we serve. It’s ours to make, one way or the other. But the thing is, we do have to choose.

Because, you see, not making a choice when we are faced with a decision is, in effect, actually making a choice. You’re just choosing not to act.

Sometimes choosing the right thing makes us squirm. It feels uncomfortable. It can even feel – as Joshua says – “undesireable”. But, if we are to faithfully serve the Lord, we must choose to do so.

“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu

Ooooh my. Amen to that, right?!

By making the choice to serve Jesus, we are making the decision to be His holy hands and feet right here on terra firma. Our house. Ground Zero. And we can take our “house” wherever we go. In our hometowns, or in whatever town we find ourselves waking up today.

Last week, I had the honor to serve as the Parish Mission leader for Our Lady of the Assumption Church in Turlock, California. As much as I’d love to relive every moment of that amazing week with you here, I won’t do it. Coming back from Retreat is like coming back from a long vacation. You return with stories of people and places and inside jokes and funny reminders that don’t mean anything to anyone who wasn’t there (even if they are really good…) and you sort of feel like you’re boring everyone!

But let me just say this:  God’s Kingdom is alive and thriving in Turlock and it quickly became my “home away from home”.

I unequivocally learned that my house is with me wherever I go, if I choose to go with God.

 

go with god

My house = my home, my church, my school, my workplace, my own spheres of influence, my family, my friends, and my community. Wherever I am.

My house is all of it – connected by One God. And it’s connected to yours, too.

As for me and my house, we choose to serve God. Do you?

Choose God at every turn, influence others with His grace and mercy, change lives through His forgiveness, uplift another with His joy through encouragement. Breathe new life into a sticky situation with love.

My new friend, Antonio, gave me some sage advice last week. He said, “Wendie, it’s a wonderful thing to have faith. But faith for just the sake of knowledge isn’t all that’s needed. If I have so much faith so that I can move mountains but I move that mountain without love, what good does it do for God?? I can have all the knowledge in the world about faith, but if I’m not passing it on in love, I’m really not doing anything for Him at all. Every day pray for love like His.”

When we choose God, let us also choose love. Because when we choose love, things change.

So, as for me and my house – just like Antonio – we choose Love.

What decisions are you wrestling with today? Bring them to Jesus. Sit with Him for a while and see how the Spirit speaks to you through it. May you find peace, mercy, and love in the choosing, sweet friends. Know that I am praying for you!

If you are following along with us this summer for our Pure Joy 2014 Series, here’s what’s going on this week:

  • Find or print your scripture card for this week! Joshua 24:15 is our verse of “choice” (hee hee, get it?!)
  • Finish up reading our third book of the summer, Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin.
  • RSVP to our final Pure Joy dinner of the summer, being held this Thursday! (OR host your own if you are not local!)
  • Get motivated to be God’s loving hands and feet with this song by Matthew West – “Do Something”! Here’s the link to YouTube music video:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_RjndG0IX8

Can you believe we only have two more weeks of Pure Joy left?! Where does the time go?! Don’t be sad, tho, because we are on the verge of announcing our awesome FALL 2014 Bible Study Series! Stay tuned…!

Have a fantastic week!!!

Peace, love, and JOY!

Wendie

Up Next Week: What Hope Really Means

4 responses »

  1. Love! Love! Love! What a week it was and I am ever so grateful to have those memories with you. You have so filled all our hearts with joy and love to believe and follow our one true Lord. Amen sister friend! Loved that Mr. Antonio!

Leave a Reply

