Simple Blessings of a Hotel Room

Standard

I know people who simply hate to travel.  They hate the crowds, the lines, the airplane air, the ground transportation, and even the starkness of their hotel room, once they finally reach their destination.  No matter how well they plan it, it doesn’t seem to go their way.

Life Graph with photo corners

I get it.  I really do. Crowded airports are maddening and  air turbulence ignite fireworks in my stomach (and adrenal glands…).  But once I hit that hotel room on the first night away?  Well.  That’s when everything else falls away, the twisted road unravels, and the blessings abound.

And they abound in simplicity.    Gleaming fixtures.  Clean bathrooms.  Made beds.  Stocked fridges and/or diet coke machines down the hall next to ice machines that churn out the perfect little cube to accompany your drink.  Warm cookies doled out to your and your family before bedtime.  Breakfast delivered to your door or prepared for you in the lobby.

Those blessings are all a part of it, to be sure.  But honestly, it’s the fact that everything my family and I need for that day is in one compact, uncluttered space.  No distractions searching through messy closets and drawers.  No clutter on my desk.  No surfing the fridge for the last soda or diving into the cabinets for an old piece of chocolate for that late night fix.  No dirty socks blocking entrance into the bathroom.

Just today’s necessities neatly laid out and ready for us to use and enjoy.  Bliss.

What if we had that kind of room that we could access every day?  Where we could let all the distractions and imperfections of our day fall away and instead, we could fall into the blessings of receiving exactly what we need for the moment?

We do!  It’s the “room” we enter when we open up scripture and let God’s word displace (and replace) everything else we’ve got going on inside (and out).

“My choice is You, God, first and only.”

Psalm 16:5, MSG

I’m so excited to share with you a sneak peak at our summer 2015 Bible study series:

simplifi logo

 

We’re kicking it off in just a few short weeks and all the details you need to know will be posted here soon!  In the meantime, spend a little time pondering the blessings of what life could look life if you learned to simpl.if.I!  Can’t wait to spend the summer with YOU!

Of course, in the meantime, if you have any unused hotel vouchers and you don’t know what to do with them, send them my way! My peeps and I can take care of them for you!  😉

Peace, love and JOY!

Wendie

Up next week:  Surprise Guest POST!!!!

6 responses »

  1. Ahhhh…..to get away and find that quiet place right now!!!
    Funny thing…just before I read your post I was reading through a bit of one of my travel journals. I remembered and could feel the “ahhh” moment in which I relished in the simplicity and adequacy of our room, the relaxed relief of arriving after a long flight, and the excitement( & trepidation) of the adventure to begin.
    The next evening?!….my journal reflects how I was up late “planning” my agenda for the next day!!!! —–I am such a control freak!!!

    Simpl * if * I ???? Learn to live life for TODAY not racing through planning for a better TOMORROW.

    Thanks for your continued wisdom. – Peace in this day! ❤

  2. Can’t wait to see what you have planned ! I was actually sharing my books from last summer and wondering in my mind what might be happening this summer!

Leave a Reply

