Lessons from the Waiting Room (Guest Post by Lyn Schmidt!)

Standard

It’s always a pleasure to welcome guest writers to my blog!  Today, I’m thrilled to introduce you to my dear friend (and indispensable Stringing Pearls ministry team member!), Lyn Schmidt.  Lyn’s shares her honest struggles with fear and trusting God in the midst of her son’s surgery.  Join me in giving her a big hug!  Here she is:

 

My son had surgery yesterday.

I was really scared.

I told a dear friend how worried I was. She told me that one thing she has learned for certain is that “worry gets us nowhere.”  She is so right! Think about this for a second. What good has ever come from your worry?

This wise friend suggested that I turn to God with my situation. She challenged me to see that I could change my worry into trust in God. How amazing!

psalm 16-8 Lyn

 

However, this is not an easy task. Worry will always try to find its way into our hearts. And so, my first inclination was to want the people around me to take away my fear.  I wanted them to notice that I was anxious and edgy. I wanted them to fix it. But ultimately, this led me to being really disappointed in some people that I love.

 

I didn’t tell them what I needed. I wanted them to intuitively know what I needed them to say and how I expected them to act. I didn’t truly give them the chance to support me the way that my mind imagined I needed to be supported.  I just wanted them to know.  They didn’t know.  They didn’t act as I imagined they might act and I was disappointed.  I turned that disappointment into crazy anxiety.  I turned it into anger towards people I love. These people did not deserve that anger.

 

Another friend sent me a text as I sat in the surgical waiting room: “He lives to silence all my fears, wipe away my tears and calm my troubled heart.” She saw this on a Church’s marquee and immediately sent it to me. These words reached me at exactly the moment I needed them.   I let it sink in, and I realized how ridiculous I was.   God told me to pay attention.  I had been praying for weeks about this day, but had I ever really stopped to listen?  Did I ever really pay attention?   So, in that waiting room and at that moment, I decided to pay attention and I let Him in.

 Aready Have in God - Lyn

Not until that moment did I realize I was seeking from others what I already had in God.   Why hadn’t I turned to the One who knew what I needed without any coaxing or explanation?  Why had I sought from others what I already had in God?  How absolutely ridiculous I was!  He was always there; I just didn’t really look for Him.

 

What I imagine I need in any moment of my life I certainly already have in God.  Why do I seek anything further-EVER? In doing so I will always be disappointed.  I will always find fault in the people around me.  This fault is certainly not theirs to bear.  I must seek all things from God who knows me like no other person in my life.  He knows my heart, my joys, and my sorrows.  He knows every hair on my head, my every thought, and my every fear.

 

There is not one single moment of my life where I am alone.  He holds me forever close to His own heart.  He “gets” me.  He “has” me. There are no surprises in my life to Him.   He knows it all and He understands my every need.  Why would I ever need to seek comfort anywhere else but in Him?  He will hold me close and calm my fears.

 

You’re my servant, serving on my side. I’ve picked you. I haven’t dropped you. Don’t panic. I’m with you. There’s no need to fear for I’m your God.  I’ll give you strength. I’ll help you. I’ll hold you steady; keep a firm grip on you. Isaiah 42:10  Msg

 

He tells me that there is no need for fear. He will give me strength.  I must pay attention.  I must seek Him out.  He is with me always.  He has blessed my life with wonderful people.   May I be grateful for them everyday.  May I encourage them to seek God in times of need and in times of joy.  May I remind them to pay attention.  May I remember to pay attention.

 

May we all know that God will keep us steady.  Trusting the Lord wins over worry because love wins. My God loves me like I cannot even imagine. I trust Him like I trust no one else and nothing else in this world. He’s got me. He’s got control over any situation I will ever face for all the days of my life. And He’s got you, too.

In Him,

Lyn Schmidt

Up Next Week:  Simpl.if.I 2015 simplified!

 

5 responses »

  1. Lyn, how amazing you are. You are a wonderful and caring mother and dear friend to us all. Your words hit home to me as well with my worries and fears for my teen sons. TRUST. Its all about who we believe in and trusting that he has our worries and he knows our fears. You said it beautifully my dear friend!

  2. Thank you Lyn! Your words were just the thing I needed reminding of this morning! His love shines through you right to my heart. Well done my friend! Peace in the day †

  3. Thank you! Just the reminder I needed this morning! Beautifully written my dear, beautiful friend. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, feelings, fears and uplifting realization. I am so grateful for you and my stringing pearls bible study sisters for helping me to strengthen my faith and remember to turn to God and scripture for wisdom and Truth and peace. Bravo my friend.

  4. Lyn – Thank you for sharing the wisdom with us that you gained from this critically important experience in your life. While we strive to be there for one another as “Bible Sistas”, God is with us always, always, always. I love your reminder to always look to Him. Thanks so much, Lyn.

Leave a Reply

