The Five HAPPIEST Hygge Things this Spring!

Standard

YAY YOU (and me, too!)! It’s THAT time once again for our Top Five Faves of the month! April’s Theme: “HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY!” And who doesn’t love a whole lotta happy – especially when it’s also HYGGE?!

Taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed are those of you who run to Him!

Psalm 34:8

Here’s what’s making me happy and comfy this month:

Comfort: YIN YOGA!
Yin yoga is a slow-paced style of yoga with postures that are held for longer periods of time—for beginners, it may range from 45 seconds to two minutes; more advanced practitioners may stay in one asana (or pose) for five minutes or more. Yin yoga poses apply moderate stress to the connective tissues of the body—the tendons, fascia, and ligaments—with the aim of increasing circulation in the joints and improving flexibility. (Wikipedia)

yin yoga

 

I LOVE the slower pace and the intentional quieting of the body and mind while holding poses. This is a GREAT class for anyone like me with connective tissue diseases (like Lupus, RA, etc.) because it’s nurturing, yet very effective! My FAVE place to take this class is at a local salt room (local peeps, check out Tavoos Spa and make sure to take class with Karen Flynn). The added benefit of being in the salt cave just adds something special to the practice! Makes me happy, sisters! You can find videos of yin yoga online and even on some on-demand services. Check it out and tell me what you think!

Delight: COASTERS!

Frankly, everything in this month’s faves delights me!  But these custom made coasters?!  They’re extra awesome. Nothing makes me smile bigger than elephants! (See this post from Jen Hatmaker as to WHY!) So, in prepping the logo and contents of this summer’s upcoming “Breathe Box by …spm ministries…” (stay tuned – big reveal coming in the next few weeks!), I knew we had to add something whimsically pachyderm-ical to the mix! An artist friend of mine – shout out to Tammy 😉 –  is the one making the actual stone coasters that will go into our boxes this summer (trust me, they are going to be fantastic!). But for a prototype, I designed these on Shutterfly and ordered them so I could get a feel for size and weight!

Coaster

HOW CUTE ARE THEY?! If that doesn’t make you smile just a little, I’m just not sure if anything will!

Enlighten: TRUTH!

Speaking of elephants, I’m super in love with a new retailer I found online called Sugarboo and Co.! They have an awesome elephant logo AND the coolest collection of unique, whimsical gifts and other wares I’ve seen around in a long time! This beauty right here is their “365 Gathered Truths” box, filled with – you guessed it – 365 quotes that give comfort, smiles, and humor.

365 Gathered Truths

 

AND…they even offer a refill pack over 365 MORE gathered truths once you’ve made your way through the first pack! You can check out their online store here: https://www.sugarbooandco.com/
Motivate. SOCKS!

Aside from the aforementioned yin yoga classes, working out doesn’t necessarily make the list of daily priorities in my life. I’m trying to change that. So when I saw these awesome socks from Notes to Self, I had to get THIS pair!

Happy socks

Perfect, right? Motivation to get moving and makes me smile when I’m all finished and get to take my gym shoes OFF! I got mine on amazon.com; but you can check out their website here:  https://www.notestoself.com/  They have a bazillion different sayings and colors!  Perfect gift to yourself – or someone who needs a little happy right now!  🙂
Nourish: TEA!

I’ve always been a lover of TEA! ALL kinds of tea from hot tea to iced tea; straight up or tea with milk;  and of course tea with lemon. You name it, I like it! This winter, I was introduced to David’s Tea and love their fresh approach to flavors, packaging, and the winsome way they put together their storefronts. Check out this assortment of teas that allows you to try out lots of different flavors to find your favorites! A carousel of tea?!

David's Tea

Yes, please! My personal favorites: Buddha’s Blend (white tea blend with floral goodness), Grapefruit Rose Starburst (excellent hot OR cold); and Blackberry Jasmine Blast (try it iced with agave – you’re welcome); and Candy Cane Crush (so. so. good.).  Their teas are available loose or in tea bags! Visit them online at:   https://www.davidstea.com/us_en/home/ or pop into a local store if there’s one nearby. Happy vibes all around!

That’s it for this month’s top five happy favorites! Looking forward to seeing you back here the first week of May for our special summer kick-off edition, new website links, giveaways, new content, and OH. SO. MUCH. MORE!

In the words of Bob the Tomato, “God made you special and He loves you very much”!  How happy is that?
Peace, love, and SO MUCH JOY!

Wendie

Leave a comment